WhatsApp is rolling out a new feature, which has been in news for nearly a year now. The feature is to delete or recall that embarrassing message that you might send accidently. The Facebook owned messaging app, now used by over one billion users, is adding a new feature called Delete For everyone that essentially means you will be able to recall or delete a message after sending it.This recall message feature is one feature highly awaited by WhatsApp users.
So now let us look into this new WhatsApp ‘Delete for Everyone’ feature and how to use it?
This feature is said to be one of the most requested one by the users and several users have started noticing the feature in the latest WhatsApp version when they press the trash icon. Alongside Delete for Everyone, users will also see the Delete for Me option, if they only want to delete the message from their phone.As we already mentioned, the feature will only work for both the parties if both the users are using the latest WhatsApp version. The feature is said to work for all kinds of messages on the most widely used instant messaging app.
The report says it will work for all texts, images, videos, GIFs, voice messages, contact, files, location, quoted message, and status replies on WhatsApp.You can also delete multiple messages at once. As per reportsWhatsApp at the moment does not recall a message contained in a quoted message. Messages cannot be deleted for everyone if they are sent in a broadcast list. It also adds that messages will not be deleted on the Symbian app, so those users will continue to see the recalled message.WhatsApp hints that the message recall will work best when you recall a message within 7 minutes of sending it. Once the message has been deleted a user will see “this message has been deleted” in place of the message.
Based on the initial report, the sent message will be deleted from the chat page as well as from the notifications pane.But at the same time WhatsApp warns that the person who receives a message may see it before you had the chance to recall. Or he or she may take a screenshot. WhatsApp says that the sender will not be notified if deleting for everyone is unsuccessful.The recall feature is already available in other popular chat apps like Telegram, Viber, and others, and WhatsApp is finally looking to make it available to its billion daily active users as well.
So, here’s how the feature is used, to delete a message – long press the message, tap the delete icon at the top of the screen. You will see three options: Delete for Everyone, Delete for Me and Cancel. The Delete for Everyone will delete the message on both receiver and sender’s end, Delete for Me will delete the message on just one side and cancel will take you back to the chat window without any deletion.
As we said earlier, this feature will work only if both the users are on the same version of WhatsApp and that version must support the new feature. Currently, these are the beta versions of WhatsApp numbered: v2.17.399 and v2.17.400.If you don’t want to use a beta version, wait for a few days. Your WhatsApp will be updated, and you will get the message recall feature. WhatsApp has over a billion users so obviously it is going to take a while before everyone gets the new feature.