MS Dhoni receives Padma Bhushan on the same date he led India to lift the 2011 ICC World Cup

Former Indian cricket team captain, MS Dhoni attached yet another jewel to his crown after being conferred with the prestigious Padma Bhushan Award at the Rashtrapati Bhawan. Dhoni, who is the most successful Indian captain till date, is the only skipper to win all the ICC trophies- ICC Cricket World Cup, World Twenty20 and the Champions Trophy. In Test cricket, he helped India achieve numerous status in 2009.

ms dhoni padma bhushan

It was a coincident that he received the Padma Bhushan Award from the President Ram Nath Kovind on the same day when he led India to its second ICC World Cup triumph exactly seven years ago. India have won the ICC Cricket World Cup twice, once in 1983 and the second won came in 2011. Both were memorable in their own respect but one moment that stood out in 2011 was the huge six that came off former India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni’s bat. On this day, April 2, 2011, India won the World Cup final against Sri Lanka.

MS Dhoni is known as one of the most successful Indian captains of all time. He was made captain of the Indian T20I team in 2007 before the inaugural T20I World Cup which India went on to win. Later he was selected as ODI captain and became the Test captain after the retirement of Anil Kumble. However, he retired from Test cricket in 2014 and in January 2017, relinquished limited overs captaincy too leading to Virat Kohli taking over in all three formats.

Ms Dhoni is also the 11th Indian cricketer to receive the Padma Bhushan after Rahul Dravid and legendary Indian captain Kapil Dev. Dhoni, who holds the rank of Honorary Lieutenant Colonel, wore his official uniform of the Territorial Army for the ceremony. As his name was announced, Dhoni marched past the dignitaries present at the Rashtrapathi Bhavan before receiving the honour from President Ram Nath Kovind.

Dhoni has been the beneficiary of many awards, including the ICC ODI Player of the Year award in 2008 and 2009 (the first player to win the award twice), the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award and Dhoni won the Padma Shri in 2009.

This year 85 recipients were selected for the prestigious awards, which includes 3 Padma Vibhushan, 9 Padma Bhushan and 73 Padma Shri awards.

Jayson John

Jayson John has hands on experience in writing articles related to technology, entertainment, business, finance and many more.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>